Responsible Care® Codes

The Responsible Care® Operations, Stewardship and Accountability Codes influence the decisions that CIAC member-companies make every day – decisions that are key to creating more sustainable products and processes.

The Operations Code outlines how Responsible Care® companies should manage their facilities and equipment to ensure that they’re operated in a safe and responsible way. Companies must work to continuously improve the environmental performance of their facilities and processes, and reduce their resource consumption.

Under the Stewardship Code, companies must regularly review the value, impact and safety of the products that they make, and the services and technologies that they use. They must also work with their business partners – suppliers, distributors and customers – to ensure the stewardship and security of their products over their entire life cycle.

Finally, the Accountability Code requires companies to communicate the risks and benefits of their operations to those who live beside their plants, or in communities along transportation corridors, as well as to other stakeholders, and to work to address any concerns that they may have.

Codes de la Gestion responsableMD

Les codes de la Gestion responsableMD sur les opérations, la gestion et la responsabilisation influencent les décisions que les compagnies membres de l’ACIC prennent tous les jours – des décisions essentielles au développement de produits et de procédés plus durables.

Le Code des opérations précise comment les compagnies membres de la Gestion responsableMD devraient gérer leurs installations et leur matériel afin d’assurer qu’ils sont utilisés de façon sécuritaire et responsable. Les compagnies doivent chercher à améliorer continuellement la performance environnementale de leurs installations et de leurs procédés, et réduire leur consommation de ressources.

Selon le Code de gestion, les compagnies doivent régulièrement évaluer la valeur, l’impact et la sécurité des produits qu’elles fabriquent, et des services et technologies qu’elles utilisent. Elles doivent également collaborer avec leurs partenaires – fournisseurs, distributeurs et clients – pour assurer la gestion et la sécurité de leurs produits pendant tout leur cycle de vie.

Finalement, le Code de responsabilisation exige que les compagnies fassent part des risques et des avantages de leurs opérations aux gens qui vivent près de leurs usines ou dans les collectivités situées le long des corridors de transport, de même qu’aux autres intervenants, et donnent suite aux préoccupations qu’ils peuvent avoir.